Dublin Fingal Is Top Constituency for Anti-Racism Pledge

15 out of 16 general election candidates standing in the Dublin Fingal constituency have signed up to an Anti-Racism Election Protocol, with their number beating every other constituency in the country. The protocol has been used to address fearmongering about integration in the county despite its widely acknowledged success. The candidates also took part in photocalls in Balbriggan and Swords on Saturday 1st and Sunday 2nd February to send a clear message that racism should have no place in the election campaign in Fingal.

Fingal Communities Against Racism (FCAR) spokesperson Dr. Lucy Michael said, “It’s hugely positive that the vast majority of Dublin Fingal election candidates signed the Anti-Racism Election Protocol both during the by-election campaign in November and now again during the general election. Ahead of polling day on 8th February, we are helping people have conversations with friends, family, neighbours and workmates about the far-right and anti-immigrant attitudes. We believe conversations matter to keep our region free of hate. You can find tips to help you have those conversations on our website FingalTogether.ie and our social media platforms”.

Local residents were out sharing the message of an inclusive Fingal across the weekend, and will be continuing right up to the election. Response across Fingal has been hugely positive, with businesses and community centres taking posters sharing the Fingal Together message.

The Anti-Racism Election Protocol, an initiative of The Irish Network Against Racism (INAR), commits candidates to conduct their election campaigns in such a way that they do not incite hatred or prejudice on the grounds of ‘race’, colour, nationality or ethnic or national origin, religious belief and membership of the Traveller or Roma Community.

A full list of Dublin Fingal General Election Candidates who have endorsed the Anti-Racism Election Protocol is available at: https://inar.ie/signatories-of-the-anti-racism-election-protocol-2020/ and is as follows:

Paul Mulville – Social Democrats
Louise O’Reilly – Sinn Féin
Duncan Smith – Labour
Terry Kelleher – Solidarity
Joe O’Brien – Green Party
John Uwhumiakpor – People Before Profit
Lorraine Clifford-Lee – Fianna Fáil
Alistair Smith – United People
Alan Farrell – Fine Gael
James Reilly – Fine Gael
Darragh O’Brien – Fianna Fáil
Dean Mulligan – Independents4Change
Sandra Sweetman – Independent
Glenn Brady – Independent
Tony Murphy – Independent